Responsive image

Thanjavur Corporation

Thanjavur municipality has become a corporation with effect from 18th February, 2014. Thirumathi. Savithri Gopal, municipal chairperson, has become the first mayor of the Thanjavur City Corporation.

This corporation consist of 51 wards and the legislative body is headed by an elected Chairperson assisted by a Deputy Chairperson and 49 councillors who represent each wards in the city.

Earlier, the municipality established in May 9, 1866, celebrated its centenary in 1967 when C.N.Annadurai was the Chief Minister. It became a special-grade municipality in 1983 during M.G.Ramachandran’s government. The new corporation will have an area of 36.31 sq km and a population of around five lakh.

Municipal Corporation Officials
Mayor -
Commissioner Thiru M. Varatharaj MA PGL
Deputy Mayor -

Other Links